Bill Taylor

Co-founder, Fast Company; Author, "Practically Radical: Not-So-Crazy Ways to Transform Your Company, Shake Up Your Industry, and Challenge Yourself"

Bill Taylor is an agenda-setting writer, speaker and entrepreneur who has shaped the global conversation about the best ways to compete, innovate and succeed. His latest project, Practically Radical: Not-So-Crazy Ways to Transform Your Company, Shake Up Your Industry, and Challenge Yourself, is based on in-depth access to 25 organizations that are making deep-seated changes under the most trying circumstances imaginable. These organizations (from hard-charging technology companies to long-established nonprofits, from hospitals to automakers to banks) are mastering a set of strategies and practices that define the work of leadership in turbulent times-ideas from which every leader can learn. The book was published by William Morrow, an imprint of HarperColllins, in January 2011. It became an immediate Wall Street Journal best seller and the #1 best seller on the Inc./800CEORead Hardcover Business list. Daniel H. Pink, bestselling author of Drive and A Whole New Mind, calls the book "the most powerful and instructive change manual you'll ever read." Gail McGovern, president and CEO of the American Red Cross, calls it "a must-read for organizations that want to stay energized and relevant." The New Your Journal of Books called Practically Radical "a successor to Jim Collins's seminal book, Good to Great." The Washington Times called it "an eye-opening joy." CNN, in an in-depth report on the book, declared that Taylor "has a cult following in workplace and management circles." The paperback edition of Practically Radical, fully updated and with an all-new “work book” of exercises to help meet the big challenges of change, was published on July 31, 2012. Practically Radical is a sequel of sorts to Taylor's most recent book, Mavericks at Work: Why the Most Original Minds in Business Win, which was published in October 2006. "I didn't just 'read' this book, I devoured it!" declared Tom Peters when Mavericks appeared. James J. Cramer, co-founder of TheStreet.com and host of CNBC's Mad Money with Jim Cramer, had this to say: "If Mavericks at Work had come out before I started TheStreet.com, I could have saved my investors (and myself) $100 million-because I would have been able to take the lessons in the book and apply them every day to my business." Added talent guru Marcus Buckingham: "You must find the time to read this book." Just weeks after its release, Mavericks became a New York Times best seller, a Wall Street Journal business best seller and a BusinessWeek best seller. It was the subject of articles, reviews and columns in many top publications, including U.S. News & World Report, The Boston Globe and The Economist, which called the book "a pivotal work in the tradition of In Search of Excellence and Good to Great." The Economist also named Mavericks one of its "Books of the Year, 2006." Other accolades include: "Top Ten Business Book of The Year" (amazon.com), "Top Ten Book on Innovation and Design" (BusinessWeek) and "2006 Picks of the Year in Business Books" (The Financial Times). The book also generated big attention on the small screen. ABC's Good Morning America devoted two segments (called Maverick Monday) to the book, and NBC's Weekend TODAY devoted a lengthy segment to its vision of the new workplace. CNBC aired a five-part series, hosted by Maria Bartiromo, called The Business of Innovation, which spotlighted a number of companies and executives drawn from the pages of Mavericks at Work, and for which Taylor was an on-air commentator. Practically Radical and Mavericks at Work may be Taylor's most recent projects, but they are just the latest chapter in a career devoted to challenging conventional wisdom and showcasing the power of business at its best. As co-founder and founding editor of Fast Company, he launched a magazine that won countless awards, earned a passionate following among executives and entrepreneurs around the world-and became a legendary business success. In less than six years, an enterprise that took shape in some borrowed office space in Harvard Square sold for $340 million. Fast Company has won just about every award there is to win in the magazine world, from "Startup of the Year" to "Magazine of the Year"

Content Featuring Bill Taylor